Earthy Prayer Beads

Earthy Prayer Beads
Earthy Prayer Beads

Of the full size sets of prayer beads I have made, this is probably the one I have used the most. It is in many ways the simplest with beads of wood and stone. I really like this squared off wooden beads, I find them easier to move through the hand. These dark wooden cube beads are available from Hobby Lobby. I like green stone beads for the cruciforms and invitatory beads, but I’m looking for some that are a better size and yet a nice green color. I’ve seen some Unakite rectangular beads that might work well, but they are not as uniformly green as I would like. These are green rounds are Russian Jade. This whole rosary can be made for about $5 and the cross is half of that (assuming you have flex wire, crimp beads, and tools on hand).

This set of prayer beads is constructed a little different than most I’ve made. It doesn’t have a three way bead. Being made with one long piece of flex wire it is more flexible and supple that most of the others, but this method will only work with beads that have largish holes because the wireis doubled in the drops and overlaps at the peak of the weeks loop.

