Aqua blue prayer beads

Sky blue Anglican Rosary
Aqua blue Anglican Rosary

I particularly like this one. I think its just pretty. I don’t know that my picture does the blue justice. It really is a lovely aqua blue. The cruciform beads are, if I recall correctly, blue moon cats-eye beads, the week beads are aqua, with silver spacer beads and a celtic knot to hold the three ends together.

This is another icon cross that I particularly like. It is similar to a cursillo cross but different. It has an inscription that reads: “Ecce lignum crucis in quo salus mundi” Behold the wood of the cross on which hung our savior.” I haven’t been able to find out much about where it comes from. I thought I read somewhere that it came from an ancient painting or inscription. It is a pretty widely available cross in Catholic shops and generally inexpensive. So before you buy one in silver or bronze from somewhere like the rosary workshop, they are often available in base medal from local Catholic supply shops. They are all exactly the same design with the rough Latin inscription and the stars around his feet. I would like to know more about it, so please comment if you have any clues.

From the Rosary Workshop
From the Rosary Workshop

Again, the celtic knot is just structural but doesn’t have a prayer assigned to it. I think this is a weak point in the Episcopal/Anglican design. You need some type of three-way bead for structural stability. Either we need cruciform beads designed with three (or four) holes so that strands will lay correctly or we need to intigrate a three-way bead/medal into the design. In diagrams the Anglican rosary looks like a nice circle of prayer but when you string it, it never comes our circular.

2 thoughts on “Aqua blue prayer beads

  1. Well, the “Ecce lignum” line plays a huge part in the Good Friday Veneration of the Cross liturgy.It’s well attested from at least the Regularis Concordia forward. At the entrance of the veiled cross, it pauses three times while this antiphon is sung, each time progressively higher in pitch. These antiphons are in direct parallel to “Lumen Christi” (The light of Christ) at the entrance of the Paschal Candle in the Easter Vigil. For some odd reason they’ve been omitted from the BCP… It strongly recalls the hymn Pangue Lingua, especially the Crux Fidelis section.

  2. I thought that I read somewhere that this design comes from an ancient painting, perhaps in a catecombs, or painted in an early church? This specific design seems to be replicated in many places.

    Reminds me a little of the focus given to the cross itself in the Dream of the Rood and how the cross at Heavenfield was treated.

Comments are closed.